New Member Profile – Scott Duncan

Nickname
Don’t really have one!

Where Are You From?
Worcester, MA

Favorite Food
Nachos

Hobbies
If I had to pick just one, it would be backpacking

 

About me: I acquired a small business 10 weeks ago and I am transitioning in as the former owner is transitioning out. After getting my MBA, I spent a year living off of my savings looking for a business to buy. The deal closed the same week I completely ran out of money, so the timing was perfect! I’m currently living in Watertown MA with my wonderful girlfriend Anne and our equally wonderful dog, Nyxie. I’m 31 years old and have a degree in mechanical engineering from WPI. I joined EO because although I have an excellent group of mentors/advisers/investors, there are very few people in my life who understand the highs and lows of running a business and can offer useful advice. Although she is an excellent listener, I’m worried that if I try to discuss cash flow with her one more time, my girlfriend will leave me (joking). I also find meaning in helping other entrepreneurs and hope to contribute to others as much as I gain from my EO membership.
About my business: My business is named F&M Tool and Die. We specialize in manufacturing, repairing, and servicing injection molds, but between 10-20% of our business is general job-shop machining. Although the business has a very “manufacturing” feel to it, in a way we are a service business since many of our customers are paying us for our design expertise and quick-turn around. We are located in Leominster, MA, which is an injection molding hot spot. The building is shabby, the equipment is old, our very specialized workforce is nearing retirement, and we are constantly firefighting, so there is no shortage of things to keep me up at night. But, I’m optimistic about the future of manufacturing in the US and I can’t wait to start the process of transforming F&M from a good business to a great one.
View All Blog Posts